pennies for sale

she told herself she didn't carememories of what never was

what do you know about
DiaryLand?

previous next

care? leave a note

Ichabod!

A Physicist's Guide to Smoked Gouda

 

1999-10-05 21:19:09

i wanted to write this sooner but my server was down for a few days (i despise typing without my glasses. both the screen and the keyboard are just far enough away that i can read them but they are blurry)

some masses are just very memorable. two have even been hilarious (dioband junior year and baccalaureate the same year)this one will surely be one of the most memorable.

dad had me drive to Mass on sunday. i gave three clear verbal clues that i thought we were going to mass at good shepherd. one of these clues was "whats the fastest way to get to good shepherd from here?" he said he didnt pick up on these clues because he didnt have his hearing aid in. somehow i dont believe this since he DID give me an answer to my question. . .

anyway, he got mad at me because i got confused after he instructed me to get off at the exit for st elizabeths. he expected me to know the way there, when i never paid attention to the way there. why? because i dont like to go there! then i didnt understand his instructions on where he wanted me to park. so he swore at me. i got mad at that and angry because he never told me where we were going, hes always NOT TELLING ME THINGS. so i walked into church crying, which was embarrasing because a lot of kids from my school go there. we took a seat right behind the choir. not too much longer, a young guy squeezed onto the end of our pew next to me.

the first two things i noticed were that he was dressed in all black and was standing with his arms folded tightly over his chest, like i was since i was crying. as i stopped sniffling, i noticed he had coarse dark hair, partly long - part shaved. he seemed young, about one or two years younger than me. he was dressed very simply in black, dark but not wanting to be noticed. plain worn t-shirt, standard jeans, ordinary sneakers. white socks of course. i love it when i or someone else dress all in black but still put on white socks.

he intrigued me. who was he? did he go to public or parochial school? why was he at mass, especially alone, when he certainly wasnt the typical parishoner there? the demographic of that parish tends towards the stereotypical nuclear family, a main reason i dont like it there.

i felt bad that i didnt make the effort to be friendly at the sign of peace. for some reason i waited for him to make a sign that he was willing. ah well. nothing i can do about it now, except maybe see him again . . . i just wanted to connect with him somehow.

what was the other thing i wanted to write about?