pennies for sale

she told herself she didn't carememories of what never was

what do you know about
DiaryLand?

previous next

care? leave a note

Ichabod!

A Physicist's Guide to Smoked Gouda

 

18 September 2004 9:15 a.m.

I've been writing here for over five years now. I really would prefer the entries to speak for themselves. But as time goes on and the archives get longer and longer, Arvianna simply becomes too complex for the innocent bystander.

I am originally from Pennsylvania. I have graduated from university in Indiana with a BS in Physics. Thank god that's over. Now I'm doing the whole service deal in New Mexico.

Here in New Mexico I teach a class of seventh graders in small Catholic school just off an Indian reservation. My job would be a lot less stressful if the American Jewish Congress would stop picking on Notre Dame and the Catholic Network of Volunteer Services.

After that, grad school? The thought of having to rehash my undergrad years in the application process scares the shit out of me. But when I do get around to it, I'd like to study science writing somewhere in the Northeast. I'm kinda fed up with physics research right now. Though I'm not thrilled about the possibility of moving back to a city after totally loving the rural life here by the rez.

I kind of have this fairy tale dream right now of what my life might be like in ten years or so. I could be an environmental writer living somewhere if not completely rural and remote, then near a medium to small city with some good forests nearby. If writing isnt enough to pay the bills I could teach high school or middle school science. I'd like to be married, I think. Dunno about kids at all yet, but I think I'd like to be married. In time, in time.

Bigger questions include women in science, God in science, love, and self-injury.

Irrelevant details include marching band, coloring my hair, folk singing, anime, coffee, crossword puzzles, and various aspects of the arts.

click here to go to my most recent entry