pennies for sale

she told herself she didn't carememories of what never was

what do you know about
DiaryLand?

previous next

care? leave a note

Ichabod!

A Physicist's Guide to Smoked Gouda

 

2000-03-30 00:39:32

I won the suburban cable scholarship with the help of MST3K, thank you very much.

i swear, it really was the worst essay i've written this year. however, when i showed it to my mom she said it did reveal intelligence. cant suppress it, can you old girl?

the assignment was to "interview" a parent, grandparent, and a class mate and write about the 3 most influential (or some nice adjective like that) television shows in the century. i wrote about $64,000 question and who wants to be a millionaire as examples of the steady favorites and near archetypes of mainstream network programming. then i got to gripe about how fringe cult shows keep getting pushed back to crappier time slots or canceled, and how much MST3K affected my high school life. i ended up saying that increasing the number of cable channels (them becoming more and more specialized and all) would enable more viewers to see the fringe shows they love at a reasonable time. i think thats what really got them, the fact that i supported larger cable packages.

you know what? with all that said, i really dont like television. now that MST3K is off the air, the only thing i watch regularly is the cartoon network. and suburban cable doesnt carry that, i have to go all the way to carlisle to watch cartoon network.

i have also been accepted to notre dame, and everyone seems more excited than i am. since i didnt really research it, in my mind i liken it to boston college - and i didnt like bc because my tour guide (among other things) used the phrase "heres our heisman trophy, feel free to lick the glass" i basically applied because my mom was pressuring me to apply to a catholic university and the app was sitting at the top of the pile. but i told one person, and hes managed to spread it throughout the rest of the senior class. my cousin goes to notre dame, and my aunt suspects that my high school is one of their "feeder schools" because they accept so many from here. i guess at a predominantly irish catholic school its a big thing to be accepted to notre dame. it was the only application i filled out that asked for my mothers maiden name, presumably for some kind of irish background check. ::knows shes being ridiculous::

ah well, 3 down 4 to go.

tomorrow i get to leave for dio band so i fear i cannot write to you, gentle reader. not that i have been anyway, at least like i used to.

i was asleep only 20 minutes before writing this and i had a rather strange dream. it was tomorrow morning and i was all ready for the bus with only seconds to spare, except i was still in my pajamas. my mom tried to hold up the bus for me, but it kept leaving and coming back and making me more nervous. i just planned to run upstairs, grab my uniform and change on the bus but it took me a half an hour (dream time) to find my uniform and shoes and everything. on top of all that i wanted to look good for the blue ribbon people coming that day. then there were these vo tech kids getting off the bus at my house for some reason and mom kept yelling at me, asking if beth got a tattoo and if swatara allows tattoos.

even weirder was that the sweater i was looking for in my dream really was the one i plan to wear tomorrow. i woke up from my dream and saw my room in its usual disarray. now i fear it actually will happen!