pennies for sale

she told herself she didn't carememories of what never was

what do you know about
DiaryLand?

previous next

care? leave a note

Ichabod!

A Physicist's Guide to Smoked Gouda

 

2002-07-05 9:54 p.m.

yeah. definitely made up for yesterdays laziness today. got up for early breakfast with mom at friendlys. we were gonna put sealant on the back steps but after mom washed them we have to wait a day for them to dry. so i did all my laundry and climbed out on the roof to clean the gutters. argued with my mom about cutting the multiflora rose around the brook in the back and was thwarted from washing the cars because "theres not enough shade over there"??? yeah! gave up on trying to explain fluvial geomorphology to my mom regarding the brook in the back. she wants me to clear out the rocks, and i think what she envisions for the brook is a straight clear quickly running channel lined with rocks along the side "to stop erosion." unfortunately, i dont think thats gonna stop erosion. my vision for the brook is a number of small pools to slow the water down, with rocks around the sides of the pools, yes, sort of like dams, to keep the flow towards the middle of the already eroded channel instead of bouncing from side to side like it is now. she says she doesnt want to see any of the water "backing up" and i suspect she thinks that causes erosion. i want to see water "backing up" because that means its flowing more slowly and eroding less. yeah. so thats my new project here i guess.

finally, we went out for dinner and then to dicks sporting goods for ::fanfare:: my new hiking boots! woohoo! my first pair with gortex ever, on sale, plus the gift card remnants my dad gave me. im so pleased. i desperately needed new hiking boots.

and oh yeah, i did get to do yoga last night after my mom went to bed. go me.