pennies for sale

she told herself she didn't carememories of what never was

what do you know about
DiaryLand?

previous next

care? leave a note

Ichabod!

A Physicist's Guide to Smoked Gouda

 

11 March 2004 10:28

this is for you, jesse. cause you check arvianna so often and i have not been good in rewarding peoples diaryland patience and perseverence.

i played with henna last night instead of writing poetry. theres just so much going on that im not thinking in a focused enough fashion to craft a lyric poem of heroic couplets, foregrounding the detritus of pop culture language.

thinking about why i like henna so much. i think because the act of tattooing or drawing on myself gives the canvas of my skin a sense of depth. it plays with the boundary my skin forms between myself and the world around me. a visual way to extend my indentity, a visual way to invite others into myself.

this is my skin. it is permeable. see more than just a covering of flesh, a few millimeters thick. see art that extends into and out of me. and into and out of you.

body piercings just dont capture my imagination in the same way, possibly because it doesnt play with the dimensionality of the body the way art on the skin does. with tattoos and henna, one can create a feeling of depth, and dimensionality that previously was not there.

loving the sunlight in hawaii. teasing laura, and saying that if she wants to just get her degree and get out of school, she should transfer somewhere in the midwest, where theres nothing else to do except work your butt off and get your degree. get in and get out.

this place also throws the "generic midsize brunette syndrome" on its side. here, it would be "generic petite asian syndrome".