pennies for sale

she told herself she didn't carememories of what never was

what do you know about
DiaryLand?

previous next

care? leave a note

Ichabod!

A Physicist's Guide to Smoked Gouda

 

26 February 2004 18:48

im wearing my black cords, black ankh shirt, and my blue sneakers today. why? because i was wearing them in my dream last night. last night, i was death.

yes, medeath wore blue sneakers in my dream.

everything in my life seems unbelievably fluid and dynamic right now. my ideas about physics are crumbling and being rebuilt and falling again right before my eyes, several times a day it seems like.

i apologize for any physics major arrogance i may have participated in over the years. now that im thinking that a career in physics may not be possible for me, im really feeling the pressure of the attitude physicists seem to take towards everything outside of physics: its inferior.

of course, it makes sense that physicists think that way. physics is hard, people who dont do it respect those who do, and we do it know the language of god in the universe itself. now, my question is, is it arrogant of us to want that knowledge? no, i dont think thats so bad. we have minds and brains and reason so we can use them. but to be so arrogant as to believe physics above all else? oh no.

i hope other people let this arrogance of physicists slide, and let it roll off their backs. but once youve been involved in physics and you think you might want to do something else, youre suddenly the subject of derision. chemistry? a pseudo-science. ecology and evironment? hardly science at all. science writing? well, maybe if youre giving up, and you want to take the fluff route. but dont expect to ever get back into physics again. all thats for the poeple who are too dumb to do real physics.

like me.