pennies for sale

she told herself she didn't carememories of what never was

what do you know about
DiaryLand?

previous next

care? leave a note

Ichabod!

A Physicist's Guide to Smoked Gouda

 

2000-05-12 19:13:50

oof, so much to write. what was i thinking about as i walked home from the bus stop? oh yeah

i was thinking about how quickly i do everything. or at least most things. last night i had to go to a alumni dinner for notre dame at the country club. ((i am not a country club girl! please dont turn me into one!)) and my mom was remarking on how embarrassed she was that i wolfed my food down so quickly youd think she never fed me. and i realized that i do eat very VERY quickly and this prolly explains why i get the hiccups so often. but i do lots of things quickly . . i walk quickly (for a short person at least), like between classes and stuff. even though im usually the last one out of the room, im still one of the first to my next class. and when im up at camp, and im biking and supposed to be relaxing, i still bike really fast. i like to see how fast i can get from lynch to truemans on my bike (20 minutes). i like to get things done quickly, i guess. well, except when im procrastinating. (a lot) but it always seems like im in a hurry to get somewhere. makes me really appreciate the fact that sometimes, once im there, i do take my time. like a few summers ago, i was out on my bike again. but i wanted to stop moving and stop thinking so much. or at least concentrate more. so i found a gorgeous log to lay on next to the beaver dam and didnt move for two hours.

i have a few places up at camp where i like to do that. theres a tree that hangs out over blue jay creek, and a bigger one that hangs out over the tionesta. there are the rocks at the tionesta and the point at the end of the island. theres a little swale there, that just cradles my body so perfectly theres nothing i can do but relax and listen to the creek.

strangely enough, most of these places are where i used to sit and talk for hours with ryan. how filled with memories they are.

i had my last concert with the school band on wednesday. i dont think ive ever been less prepared for a concert. and i said the same thing at the winter concert, too, but this was really bad. i havent been to rehearsal in weeks. and because of my schedule, ill only have one more rehearsal before the chorus concert. i wonder if ill have to memorize con te partiro before then.

today we had our dejeuner sur l'herbe. again, i ate really fast and got a terrible case of the hiccups, and everyone goes around saying awww, pooor elizabeth, while madame pats me on the back. maybe it was the perrier. but for my poem and my work of art, i brought a photo copy of an m.c. escher work and NIGHT by lois weakly mckay .

my kitten walks on velvet feet and makes no sound at all and in the doorway nightly sits to watch the darkness fall i think he loves the lady night and feels akin to her whose footsteps are as still as his, whose touch as soft as fur.

what else did i mean to write about .. . ah, my plurality of blank notebooks. i found two more blank note books from my sisters last night. plus some of the steno pads i used as summer journals and my old preteen diaries. so i have four blank notebooks waiting to be used, one of which is earmarked for france. i also am required to bring one to wyoming. but this thing is taking up what i should be putting to paper. oh well. its more convenient to write in. i harldy even find time to write in my gratitude/dream journal anymore. ::sighs:: but one of the blank notebooks has about a dozen pages in the front filled with ramblings that i wrote when i was in eighth grade i guess (wait it must have been the summer after eighth grade at least, because i mentioned the smashing pumpkins and i didnt get mellon collie until my 8th grade graduation), and its all about what i thought was wrong in society and how i thought things should be and what i thought reality was. ill have to go through it carefully and see how my opinions have changed in four years.

but for now, i will leave diaryland utopia and go make some tapes for my fellow smashing pumpkins fans.